Work Permit for a Freelancer

Rate this topic

Hello,

I'm planning to move to Alanya.

I'm a freelancer and I'm not going to sell products or services inside Turkey or to Turks. However, I want to open a bank account in Turkey and my income will be deposited to this bank account. Also, I'm going to buy a property in order to be able to get a residency permit.

My question is that should I register a company in Turkey in order to do my freelance job; considering that my income will be deposited to my Turkish bank account? Or are there any other better solutions to get a work permit as a foreigner with such situations in Turkey?

Thank you!
Iman

A friend of mine and I called the Ministry of Family, Labor, and Social Services about this same question. They said that if you are working online, and not doing business directly with Turkish businesses or people, not being paid from Turkey and not cutting invoices here, you don't need a work permit.

Check your country's tax treaty with Turkey. You can probably find with a Google search. The one Turkey has with the USA says that I am responsible for paying taxes in Turkey as soon as my tax home becomes Turkey, which occurs after six months. But check the treaty, there are exceptions, such as government retirements and real estate income from your home country, there may be one in your tax treaty about working online.

You can open a personal bank account in Turkey easily. Do you already have a company that receives the money for your work or do you receive it personally?

Thank you Ken for answering my questions quickly. 

My case is that I'm a web developer and I'm working as a freelancer. I don't work for a specific employer and I don't get a regular salary. I get different projects from different clients who live around the world and since I'm going to move to Turkey, I'm looking to ask them to pay to my bank account in Turkey; once I opened it. Currently, they all pay me personally.