How Much in Savings is Required for a Turkey Residence Permit?

Rate this topic

I would like to say thanks in advance for this site as it seems like a great help to everyone who uses it. My question is I would like to get a residence permit short term to begin with then onto a long term. Am I right in thinking that savings in my bank account will be sufficient to receive a residence permit? And how much would be required?  Must I also pay tax in Turkey to receive a long term residence permit as i work as a freelancer.  Also if I eventually buy a property in Turkey and apply for a long term residence permit, is there anyway I can be refused once I have already purchased the apartment. One question that just popped into my head how is the heat in Antalya? I hear it can be rather difficult to deal with? I also hear that English is not so widely spoken in the Konyalti area of Antalya it is Russian?

Thank you, Thinkingflyer. Savings in the bank would be enough, as long as it amounts to at least the Turkish minimum wage for the amount of time you want to stay. For a short-term residence permit, that could be for up to two years.

When you register online for your residence permit, the system will ask you how much money you have to support yourself. so you would take the amount of money you have and divide that by 12, if you're going to apply for a one-year residence permit.

Later, when you go to your appointment, they'll want to see a printout of the last six months of your banking activity. It doesn't have to be in a Turkish bank, it can be your bank at home.

You can learn more about how to prove you have enough money here:

It also has the Turkish minimum wage for 2021 so you'll be able to figure out the minimum you'll need. If you have a spouse or children you'll need one third of the minimum wage for each one.