Where is the Best Place to Live in Turkey?

Rate this topic

Akiro

To introduce myself, I am a Serbian freelancing translator who currently lives partly in Greece and partly in Serbia. Мy wife and I have both Greek permanent residence through her Swiss passport. We own an apartment in Kassandra peninsula but, as much as we love it there and though Kassandra has a much better climate in the winter than Belgrade/Serbia, we would like to follow the sun to a warmer, and to be honest, less expensive region. We generate together monthly roughly an average of 2k, which is not enough for year-round stay in Greece and eats up our reserves. During Corona we have to stay in our Greek seaside village because it is much safer than Belgrade (the Greek have harsh Corona measures, but Serbia has only very few and plus about nobody respecting them, so it would be risky to be in Serbia right now) but for the future we have to find a solution that fulfills both, our needs for year-round warmth and seaside as well as our needs for a budget friendly environment. So, considering budget and seaside, the choices were Bulgaria, Montenegro or Turkey, considering the better climate during winter, definitively Turkey is the winner.

The basic idea is to spend the summer months in Greece and to sell our apartment in Belgrade to buy a property in Turkey for the winter months. Let's say some division of four months Greece, 5 months Turkey and 3 months Belgrade. The secondary idea is to avoid being anywhere more than 183 days.

We are a mid-aged couple (55 & 59), so our party times are past tense, we seek some rather quiet but not out-of-season dead environment for the autumn/winter period. So here are some question, if someone experienced with Turkey is willing to give us some hints (at the end we will still have to spend some two or three months in Turkey to check things out).

1. Weather