Turkish Jokes

Rate this topic

Maybe I'm supposed to translate this joke into English, so everybody would enjoy..

But I'm just a translator of the most boring documents, poor me :D , and I dont think somebody would laugh at a joke I translate..

But maybe I can talk about the 'laz' mentioned in the joke. There is a general tendency to call the people living along the Black Sea cost 'laz', though in fact the word indicates an ethnical group. There is a huge oral literature of 'laz fıkraları: laz jokes', because , their reactions to events, unexpected situations, their own way of looking at the matters probably caused a folklor to emerge and finally a literature of jokes followed. Sometimes the character in the joke is called 'Temel', a common name for men, in the region. Temel is always smart, but sometimes he takes the matters so matter of factly that surprises everybody.

Let me tell you a Temel joke to give an idea..

It was when the computer, or with the name common then 'electronic brain' was introduced to the world. Science people all around the world was invited for this great introduction. A professor, lets say, from the UK asked a question about relativity theory and voila, the output written on the continous form papers used then out- poured. Wow! said the professor, that's right! Then the German professor, about the dynamics of space crafts, then the French, whatever they asked was replied by the computer in a second. Then Temel approached, wrote his question on the input card and waited. Silence followed.

The electronic brain stayed idle for another few seconds and started hissing, buzzing while all the small green and red lights on the machine were flashing crazily. Then smoke covered everywhere and the brain turned into a dead case of metal. They rushed to Temel 'Hey? WHAT did you ask?' 'Why? he replied, I just said 'ne var ne yok?''Ne var ne yok' is an informal way saying 'How are you'. Literally it means 'what is there and what is not?'