Importing Classic Motorbikes

Rate this topic

Hello everyone I am a semi retired computer professional man who has found his way to this lovely country with quaint and weird laws. I have collected over the years a number of motorcycles in the U.

K. and am trying to understand what it costs and how it can be done to bring one or 2 motorcycles here to Turkey. One is a Moto Guzzi lemans 1986 1000cc. The other is a Triumph Trident 1966 750cc. I am in Turkey on a temporary visa from the airport. My partner is English, a home owner with her own company in the koy lands.

post-2557-1235203062_thumb.jpg

Welcome to the form Nick.

If its the same for motorbikes as it is for cars then the answer is that it has to be taken out of the country every 6 months over a 2 year period, after that I think you cannot bring it back into Turkey for another year. Also a bond is put on the car, which is returned eventally. It is a complicated and expensive business and if you are thinking of living in Turkey on a permanent basis most people decide it is not worth it.

I just found this, it covers cars and motor bikes and was discussed recentlyhttp://www.turkeycentral.com/index.php?showtopic=3815

:wub: Welcome to the forum Nick.

I'm afraid it's not good news. Importing vehicles into T is costly and difficult. The same rules apply to motorbikes as to cars.

Information from the Turkish Consulate London about a retired person bringing in a car to Turkey.