Taking Foodstuffs Into Turkey

Rate this topic

Loaded up as I am this time, one of my best friends there has asked me to bring her back a couple of jars of Bovril, which her hubby adores. I know it is beef (luckily not pork!) extract and I wonder if it contravenes some rule about meat or meat products? I remember an Italian friend got his salami confiscated at Heathrow but think taking away the Bovril might be a bit far fetched but I am just checking:)Also, I am bringing Ovaltine (for me) - think that's ok!

But - more problematical - my BEST friend who has done so much for me wants 1/2 kilo best mature Cheddar *sigh* I promised him...thoughts or experiences?(Good thing he's not a Stilton addict!)

Can not say I'm an expert as to "the rules" but I can say that I've never had any problems, what I do is:First do not pack groceries in your hand luggage - This is especially true for Bovril because of the liquid content.

Next do not bring any opened packages - A 1/2 full tin of Ovaltine might be thought of as narcotics.

Finally for the Cheese make sure it is vacuum packed - that way you need not even worry about Stilton http://www.turkeycentral.com/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/tongue.gifBasically pack your Groceries in your "Hold Luggage" - that's what I have done for years with no problems

I agree with the advice Bushman has given you although I've never had any problem with cheese in a sealed pack in my hand luggage.

I used to carry my Marmite in my handbag until the liquids ban.

The last time I came through Heathrow, on Dec. 1st everyone was checked over by a sniffer dog trained to spot large amounts of money. I checked with the officer who said there is no limit to the amount of money you can take out of the country (UK) but you should register amounts over