Giray

Moving to turkey soon

Rate this topic

Hi 

I have been following this forum for long time  but this is my first time to post on it . I'm going to retire soon as I'm getting near the age of 63 . My missus and I  had visited several cities in Turkey and we fall in love in all of them. Now we  decided to spent more time in turkey  precisely  from early May to late October  every year and we need  advice from you wise people to choose which area we can settle in.We are looking for a quiet non touristy  village  preferably overlooking the sea  near an airport and has a suitable weather for outdoor activities during that period of the year.TIA

Welcome to the Forum Giray. in order to help make decent suggestions we probably need to know what you mean by non touristy.  We fled Bodrum when it became unbearable for us, especially in the summer. If you really go non touristy then you will need to speak more Turkish, you will not have access to 'expat' bars and restaurants. Non of that is a problem for us.  You will also need to buy a car if you are to live in a village. For us it also means having to drive 25km to the nearest town, 50km to the nearest city. When you say airport do you mean international airport or are you happy to fly via Istanbul for example?

Thanks Abi for your reply. You may agree that touristic cities are  usually crowded, noisy during the season and we are trying to avoid that. Living in a village or small town  nearby local airport  about 30 k.m.distance hopefully will give us  easy reach  to  both city amenities and the airport  whenever we like. We are used to have dinner at home most of  the evenings and we are not fancy about bars as well so there will be no problem with that. The only issue will be the language barrier as you mentioned  but we will  trying to get over by using instant translation applications on the phone and  we will work hard  to learn some Turkish . Later after settling  we will buy  our own car if we feel we need to.