Ohreaper

Your thoughts about Adana?

Rate this topic

11 posts in this topic

Hey everyone! I am a Turkish student studying at Cukurova University,the Department of English Language Teaching.If anyone needs help,I'm here. I would also love to here your thoughts about our city Adana.Do you like it? 

Have a nice day! 

Ken Grubb likes this

Hi Ohreaper,

I'm in Adana myself at the moment visiting a friend. We can always use an extra help around here! The best thing you can do is go to the main Adana forum, and click the "Follow" button near the upper right. That way, if anybody posts a question or comment about Adana, you'll get a courtesy e-mail to let you know. We'd like to get all of our members doing this, because it creates an even larger network of local and subject matter experts who can help out anyone who has a question about something.

I was rather impressed with Adana when I arrived here yesterday. I was stationed at Incirlik Air Base from 2003 to 2006, so I could see a few changes when I came back again. Especially the new "Optimum" mall. Also I read that Adana has a new archaeological museum and I will definitely be visiting that. And I see there is a tramway now! It looks like the city is expanding nicely.

The "alley" just outside of Incirlik Air Base used to be full of open shops and restaurants catering to NATO personnel from the base. It's completely closed down now, the doors and windows are shuttered. I didn't even see one open business along that whole street. Apparently all of the NATO personnel are in lock-down, and have been for about a year and a half now. But they are building new apartments in Incirlik village. My friend told me it was because the prices of apartments in Adana is quite high now, but in Incirlik village the prices are a fraction of that.

We also took a drive around the lake, which was quite beautiful still, and had breakfast at a village-type restaurant on the lake shore.