Sign in to follow this  
chelsea1991

What should I believe?

Rate this topic

Hello!

I am new to this and need some advice!

I met a Turkish guy who was working In the hotel I was staying in. We hit it off and have kept in touch. (even though there is a bit of a language barrier!)  He has told me he Loves me and wants to be with me but then one day from nowhere he told me he 'might' have a Turkish girlfriend!

I told him we will just stay friends and nothing else... Then a few weeks later he messaged me to say they had split up because he wants to be with me and wants to Marry me!

I have heard the stories about 'holiday romances' before and I don't know if I should believe him! Is he saying this to other girls he has met in the hotel?

Help!

My usual response to these kind of questions has usually been "run away as fast as you can" but I like Alan's answer very much. :D

Tell him you want to spend some time with him and ask him to lend you the airfare.

One of the best pieces of advice I have ever heard in such situations.

I can tell you I wouldn't believe him if I was in your situation, but that's based on the many examples I've heard of and seen. Your situation sounds the same. Even if he does "love" you, it doesn't mean he doesn't also love a few others, telling them the same thing. Of course not all Turkish men are like that, but it's so common that you should approach this with caution. One dead-sure way to know it's fake is if he ever asks for money, for any reason (including mother in the hospital, can't pay the rent, I wrecked my car, etc). No sincere Turkish man would EVER ask his girlfriend for money--it's part of the culture. But I really like what Alan said, he really hit the nail on the head.

Please have a look through the Turkish Dating and Romantic Relationships forum (to which I have moved this topic), and you'll find similar situations.