Sign in to follow this  
Turkishdream

Bringing my USA car to Uskudar

Rate this topic

Hello

I am needing some specific help. My wife is Turkish I'm currently here in Turkey for the first time and do not want to leave. But I'm a car mechanic and cannot live without at least one car. We currently live in Florida but have an apartment in Uskudar.

My wife has never owned a car in Turkey, so she has no information.

Couple of our cars are under her name inFlorida, my questions

1. Is it easier to import a classic car? Meaning 1985 and older

2. Under her name how can I get a car iimported?

3. Looking for a broker\importer that can complete process start to finish.

Please do  not give me any information about buying a car in Turkey, that is last resort as I'm a car nut and have very rare cars, that probably cannot be found in Turkey

Of the 4 cars whichever is easier to do is what I'm after.

1 2007 Maserati Quattroporte 4.2 v8 engine

2. 1985 Mercede 500sec AMG convertible 5.0 v8 engine

3. 1972 Mercedes 250 coupe 2.8 6 cylinder engine

4 1989 BMW 535i custom pickup truck 3.5 6 cylinder engine

Thanks, I made an appt with Turkish consolute to try and get some answers

A Turkish national cannot import a vehicle into Turkey,so that i'm afraid rules her out. You can now make a temporary import for up to 2yrs,providing those named on the vehicles ownership documents have been out of Turkey for the previous 180 days.

To keep your car here for more than 2yrs you must hold a Work Permit or be officially retired.

Just as an aside,if/when you do ever try to permanently import a and re register a foreign car,the bond required by the Turk Touring Club is calculated on engine size...so all the above will cost you thousands of Dollars in a bond.

Not to mention the road tax which is also based on engine size and quite prohibitive for larger engines even if they are old. Most of the models you have listed can be found on the local market.