Sign in to follow this  
HOWpengYO

Teaching English

Rate this topic

Hello everyone, Im thinking of making the move to Istanbul in the near future. I am currently teaching English in Taiwan, and I would like to continue teaching English in Turkey. I would like to teach in a university rather than a private language school. Everything I have read so far suggests that working in a university is far more relaxed. That being said, I will work in a private language school if that is all that is available. My question is: when is the best time to look for university jobs in Istanbul? Do I need to do an in-person interview? Is there any way I can begin my job hunt from Taiwan? Any information or resources would be of great help! 

Also, I have 4 years teaching experience, a BA from an American university and a TEFL certificate.

Thanks again!

Ck-out Dave's ESL cafe http://forums.eslcafe.com/job/viewforum.php?f=22 forarguably the most pertinent blog.  

In these matters being there will always carry more weight and you're going to be able to size up potential employers better as well.  Skype interviews are lame and may sometimes be necessary, but are not suffered gladly by employees or employers with a choice—those you are presumably interested in finding. 

I think you have left it a bit late for this year as the academic year is just about ending but as Kimac says , try Dave's cafe, you might be lucky.

There are also private schools that require English teachers which would be a better option rather than language schools (Dershanes)  some of which  are notorious for their treatment of foreign teachers.

You would also need to check on viza/work permit requirements before you come.

If you really want to give Istanbul a shot things aren't going to be much different in 2016 than 2015 (politics and external factors aside).