DIY Turkish (consensual) divorce

Hi everyone,

I've been separated from my Turkish wife for almost 3 years now and we've decided it's now time to get a divorce.  We've had no kids together, no property issues.  Clean and simple.

Or not so clean and simple.  First of all I understand I need to get a Turkish 'Boşanma Protokol' officially translated.  Where do I go to do this?

Secondly, once the protokol is translated, I'll need to take it to a noter.  Which noter? Can it be any of them?  I took the untranslated protokol to a 10. Noter, but they had no idea what it was.  They weren't very helpful either.

It would be great if anyone could at least point me in the right direction.  I can manage a lot of the Turkish Kafkaesque bereaucracy most of the time, but this is leaving me stumped!

Thanks

Hello Malcalypse,

Welcome to our forum. I am a Turkish solicitor.

What you are informed is right that you have to apply for a divorce with a protocol. If you have made a mutually signed protocol, then it can be translated by a sworn translator and then can be notarized by any Turkish Notary.

Once you get the notarized/translated protocol, you may open a divorce case in the Turkish Courts.

You do not need to be present at the hearings if you appoint a lawyer acting on behalf of you.

Regards,

Av. Merve Balin

Skype Name: Merve Balin