SufeeYama

Internship Visa or Residence permit?

Rate this topic

I am an exchange student from Thailand who will go to Izmir(on 15 Sep 2014.) for a paid internship under  the programme called IAESTE(The International Association for the Exchange of Students for Technical Experience) with a turkish company.

I got so confuse from the Embassy of Turkey in Bangkok that whether what I need is an Internship Visa or only residence permit? About two months ago, two of my friends on the same program went to Turkey with Internship Visa when the consulate staff told me that I don’t need any Visa but only to apply for residence permit after my arrival in Turkey (Regarding Thai citizen exempt Visa  for 30 days visit). How is it possible that people under the same conditions require different document?

Please affirm me the clear answer.

Thanks

It sounds like what they are telling you is to come to Turkey without a visa, since you don't need one, then apply for a residence permit. That sounds reasonable to me, since you will have an employer here and it doesn't sound like the regular situation requiring a work visa since it's under some special program. Plus getting a visa from a consulate requires a lot more paperwork and time, and typically the Turkish government is giving residence permits to just about anybody who comes to Turkey on a tourist visa anyway.

I really don't think you will find better advice here than you would from the Turkish consulate, so you should do what they tell you.

Thank you for your answer.

I have read some information and came to conclusion that If one wants to live in Turkey 

exceeding 3 months eventhough they have a Visa or Visa exemption they need to apply for a resident permit.

from the http://www.egm.gov.tr/EN/Pages/Residence-Permit-Procedures.aspx it gives some examples;