anyword will do

URGENT! Please help! I overstayed

Rate this topic

Hi all,

I am an Indian student doing my research internship in an university in Izmir. I came to Turkey on May 4, 2014. My visa validity was from April 16 to May 16, 2014(visa type: research). So I had gone to the police station near Konak, Izmir on May 9,2014 to get a Residence Permit. But I was told that the visa rule has changed and now for a research internship, the visa is valid for 3 months. So I need not to get the residence permit and I can stay in Turkey with this visa for 3 months. Though they didn't give me anything in written and when I asked they said that everyone knows about the change in visa rule and so I need not to worry

Yesterday, to inquire some other queries, I went to same police station and I was appalled to hear that there is no such change in visa rule and my visa had expired on 16 May. No one was ready to talk beyond this. They told me that I will have to pay the penalty on the airport.

Please suggest me what can I do now.I have only 2 weeks remaining. I am in contact with the Indian Embassy in Turkey and they told me that they will write a formal letter to Foreign Ministry of Turkey explaining this situation.I have also informed my hosting professor. I was afraid of this situation from a long time, and also to get the rules confirmed,I had sent a mail to a head officer of Turkey Ministry of Foreign Affair on 18 May, but till date I haven't got the reply. I am not able to find the visa rule for research internship on the internet. In this condition, How will I know my visa is valid or not?