Medical School In Turkey

Rate this topic

Hi Everyone:First of all thank you for making yourselves available to answer questions. I find this to be very helpful and encouraging!

I'm a perspective medical student in the United States. I was born and raised in Ankara, Turkey. My Turkish is fluent, but my grammar is lacking. I'm going to be finishing my baccalaureate degree very soon. I have options here in the US but not sure if I would be allowed to work in Turkey as a practicing physician, and honestly, I dont want to live in the states.

My questions:- Would I be able to attend a medical school in Turkey, say Marmara Tip Universitesi?- What would the application process look like and would I have to take entrance exams, if so which ones?- How do people handle the cost of schooling here? Do they take out loans like we do in the US? How much would it cost?

I tried looking up some of this information on the Marmara website but was unsuccessful finding very much information.

Umarim yardimci ola bilirsiniz. Thank you ahead of time:Nadir

Foreign doctors are now allowed to work in Turkey provided they meet certain criteria so a medical degree obtained in the US, by a Turk, I think would be accepted. In fact, if you look at a lot of doctors resumes, you will find that they have studied abroad.http://www.hurriyetd...

D=238&nid=14399I will leave it to others to inform you about the application process.

Just a thought. To set up a medical practice after qualification takes a lot of money and I think that you would have a better chance of accumulating this in the US as wages would be substantially higher than in Turkey.

There is also the question of military service which has to be addressed.