Sign in to follow this  
lostinparadise

Dental Charges

Rate this topic

A few days ago I had treatment at the dentists and was shocked at the price. It is a couple of years since I had anything major done - so I didnt argue, but put it down to inflation. She seemed to be looking the costs up in a book - so I assumed there is a list of charges which all dentists use. (as the hairdressers do)Just mentioned it to a neighbor and he says he thinks I was charged double at least! I had a root canal treatment in a back upper tooth, which had a previous normal filling which had to be drilled out and then replaced of course, plus one normal injection local anaesthetic. Cost was 210 lira. First session lasted an hour, and she had to give me a temporary filling as the next patient was waiting, so I came back a couple of days later to have the permanent filling put in (no injection that time).I've been using the same dentist for around 10 years I think, so would not expect to be charged extra as a tourist.Does anyone know where I can find a list of charges on the internet perhaps. I've tried a google search but didnt come up with anything useful. (The one website I found which lists them didnt have the price column filled in!) and/or has anyone had similar treatment recently? Is it acceptable to haggle with the dentist? (Ive never done this)

It really depends where you are and what they think they can get away withI would recommend that people ask before the treatment what the cost is likely to be. I have had treatment in levent in Istanbul, and also at a very good private dentist in isparta and paid 70TL for rootcanal treatment

I found some information on this site.It says that root canal work costs 150-350tl but as IbrahimAbi says, it's best to ask before you have treatment. Dentists do have a list that they work from but they will charge some people less.