• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Goldiea

Goldiea

Advanced Member

• PipPipPip
  • 31 posts

Posted 23 August 2010 - 10:51 PM

Hi forum:)I am a girl from Vancouver, Canada and have thought about the idea of moving/working in Istanbul next year. I am a librarian with a Master's Degree and I also have a teaching English TEFL Certificate from a Canadian college and some experience in teaching English. I love the Turkish culture and people and want to have the change to live there not only as a cultural enlightement but also as a chance to work. I'd like to feedback and advice from anyone who's worked in IStanbul either teaching English or doing anything else. I am fluent in English, Spanish and Persian and trying to learn some basic Turkish right now:)Am interested in finding out what the average salary in Istanbul is? I'd like to have a simple but comfortable life and have to worry about living paycheque to paycheque. I have a good salary here in Vancouver as a librarian but realize that living cost may be much cheaper in Turkey.What has your experience of teaching English been there? How is the private tutoring business in Istanbul?Any info. such as salary, cost of housing, etc would be immensely appreciated.Thanks so much :bye1[1]:

#2 Abi

Abi

Puppy Guardian

• Çeşme
  • 11389 posts

Posted 23 August 2010 - 11:41 PM

Hi Goldiea and welcome to our friendly forum. Whilst I live in Turkey I don't teach so can't help you but we do have members who are teachers, some have had good experiences and some have had bad ones as you would expect. It may take a few days to get an answer but they will be along to help you out. :bye1[1]: :bye1[1]:

I like the dreams of the future better than the history of the past. - Thomas Jefferson

#3 Cukurbagli

Cukurbagli

I'm on the sunny side of the street.

• Kaş
  • 4078 posts

Posted 24 August 2010 - 06:38 AM